Penalties for a first drunk driving offense in Kansas
As experienced Junction City DUI defense lawyers, we know that public opinion is especially hostile toward drunk driving. As a result, the Kansas Legislature has enacted laws that impose harsh punishments on those convicted. Kansas DUI penalties, even for a first offense, are significant. They may consist of imprisonment, fines, and suspension of your driver’s license. As you would expect, the penalties become increasing severe with each subsequent offense.
The information below is presented to give you a general idea of the penalties you could be facing for a first offense. To get accurate penalty information and punishment options for your particular situation, we encourage you to consult an experienced Kansas DUI lawyer. DUI penalties are subject to frequent change and the tendency is for them to become ever more severe.
In addition, the Kansas DUI laws allow judges a range of penalties that they can impose. The severity of the penalty you may be facing can depend on which county, city, and court you are in; which judge imposes your sentence; and whether the judge believes you understand the gravity of your actions and have accepted responsibility for them. It is important to speak with a Kansas DUI attorney who is familiar with the sentencing practices of the judges who may be assigned to your case.
A first offense is a misdemeanor. Here are the statutory penalties.
- Jail: The minimum sentence for a first offense is 48 consecutive hours and the maximum is six months.
- Public service: Instead of jail, the court has discretion to sentence a first offender to 100 hours of public service.
- Probation/suspension/parole: The convicted person must serve at least 48 consecutive hours of imprisonment or 100 hours of public service before or as a condition of probation, suspension, reduction of sentence, or parole.
- House arrest: The court may place the first time offender under house arrest after the person has served 48 consecutive hours’ imprisonment.
- Fines: Fines range from $750 to $1000. Community service may be available as a credit to reduce the amount of the fine. In addition to the fine, there may be other fees and assessments such as court costs, towing and impound fees, and so forth.
- Driver’s license suspension: The license suspension for a first offense is 30 days followed by an addition 180 day period during which the person may drive only if the vehicle is equipped with an ignition interlock device. The suspension period is one year followed by a one year period of driving with an ignition interlock device if the offender’s alcohol concentration was .15 or greater. See Driver’s license suspensions and ignition interlock devices.
- Vehicle impound: The court may order that the person’s vehicle be impounded or immobilized for up to a year and that the convicted person pay all costs of the impound or immobilization.
Before sentencing, you will be required to participate in an alcohol and drug evaluation and you will be required to follow any recommendations made by the evaluator.
First time offenders may be eligible for a diversion agreement pursuant to which the prosecutor agrees to dismiss the case if the offender complies with certain requirements.
Get immediate assistance with your Kansas DUI
Because the consequences of a Kansas DUI conviction can be severe, help from a qualified DUI lawyer is critical. When dealing with the criminal justice system, you want the best possible advocates on your side. We are the only firm in the area with two former DUI prosecutors. We are also the only firm in the area with defense attorneys who have received the Standardized Field Sobriety Test training developed by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, administered by the Kansas Highway Patrol. Our attorneys regularly receive training in the latest DUI defense techniques as well as the latest scientific developments in breath and blood testing.
To consult with one of our highly qualified Junction City DUI attorneys, give us a brief description of your case using the form on this page. We will respond promptly. Or if you prefer, you may call our office.
Addair Thurston Chtd.
Junction City, Kansas DUI lawyers
725 N. Washington Street
Junction City, Kansas 66441
900 Poyntz Ave.
Manhattan, Kansas 66502